



16TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF IESL QATAR CHAPTER A NIGHT OF REFLECTION AND VISION!

The Institution of Engineers Sri Lanka (IESL) – Qatar Chapter successfully held its 16th Annual General Meeting (AGM) for the 2024/2025 term at 6:30PM on February 21, 2025, at Treffen House Hotel, Doha. The event brought together IESL members in Qatar to showcase and validate the past achievements, elect the new Executive Committee, and outline the chapter's future initiatives.

The evening commenced with a warm welcome to the distinguished Chief Guest, and Guest of Honors. The presence of Chief Guest, Her Excellency Roshan Sitara Khan Azard, the Ambassador of Sri Lanka to the State of Qatar, had been underscored the significance of IESL Qatar Chapter's role in fostering professional excellence.

Joining the event as Guest of Honor was CEng. Granie R Jayalath, President of the Institution of Engineers Sri Lanka, who addressed the attendees virtually, emphasizing the role of Sri Lankan engineers in global development. Another esteemed Guest of Honor, CEng. Asif Rahmany, Board Member of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) and Former President of Engineers Australia (Qatar Chapter), shared valuable insights on professional growth and engineering advancements in Qatar.

The evening began with the Sri Lankan National Anthem, followed by the traditional auspicious lamp lighting ceremony, performed by the honored guests and key members of the IESL Qatar Chapter.

Outgoing Chairman CEng. Chandimal Jayakody delivered an insightful address, reflecting on the chapter's accomplishments and contributions over the past year. His leadership has been remarkable in driving initiatives that enhanced professional networking, knowledge sharing, and skill development among Sri Lankan engineers in Qatar.

The financial overview was then presented by CEng. Mohamed Mujahid, the outgoing Treasurer, who provided a transparent summary of the chapter's fiscal performance and sustainability.

As the event progressed, following the Chief Guest speeches, a special Token of Appreciation was presented to Her Excellency Roshan Sitara Khan Azard by CEng. Jagath Gunasekera and CEng. Prasanna Janakasiri presented a token of appreciation to CEng. Asif Rahmany on behalf of IESL Qatar Chapter for their continuous support and contributions to the engineering community.

One of the key moments of the AGM was the introduction of the newly elected Executive Committee by CEng. Kamil Ariff, the Election Commissioner. The new leadership will take forward the mission of IESL Qatar Chapter, ensuring continued professional growth and collaboration among Sri Lankan engineers in Qatar.





Outgoing Executive Committee members were also honored with Certificates of Appreciation, presented by Her Excellency Roshan Sitara Khan Azard, in recognition of their dedicated service.

The newly elected Chairman, CEng. Chandimal Jayakody, shared his vision for the upcoming year, focusing on expanding professional development programs, fostering stronger industry collaborations, and enhancing member engagement.

The formal proceedings concluded with a heartfelt Vote of Thanks delivered by the newly appointed Secretary, Eng. Manoj Vellaiyapillai, expressing gratitude to the esteemed guests, sponsors, and all members for their invaluable support.

The event concluded with a group photo session, capturing the unity and spirit of IESL Qatar Chapter. A networking dinner followed, providing attendees with an opportunity to engage in meaningful discussions, share experiences, and build stronger professional connections.

The 16th AGM of IESL Qatar Chapter was a resounding success, marking yet another milestone in the chapter's journey towards engineering excellence. With a renewed commitment to professional growth and innovation, the chapter looks forward to an exciting and productive year ahead.

Newly Elected Executive Committee for year 2024/2025

Position	Name	Email ID
Chairman	CEng. Chandimal Jayakody	jayakodydic@gmail.com
Vice Chairman	CEng. Azad Mohamed Mujahid	mujahid.azad@gmail.com
Secretary	Eng. Vellaiyapillai Manoj	manoj.e07@gmail.com
Treasure	Eng. Nithiyananth Sathivel	sananth0212@gmail.com
Editor	Eng. Mohamed Mufras	imufraz@gmail.com
ExCom. Member 01	Eng. Muhammad Hanaffi	muhammadhanaffi95@gmail.com
ExCom. Member 02	Eng. Mohamed Mubeen	mubeenmakeen@gmail.com
ExCom. Member 03	Eng. Sajjath Ahameth	ahameths80@gmail.com
ExCom. Member 04	Eng. K.T.P. Premalal	pamukt90@gmail.com
ExCom. Member 05	Eng. Mohamed Afnaz	afnaz629@gmail.com





Event Photographs



Group Photo of Participants



Newly appointed Executive Committee with Chief Guests









Chief Guest Her Excellency Roshan Sitara Khan Azard





Guest of Honor Chartered Engineer. Asif Rahmany







Election Commissioner Chartered Engineer Kamil Ariff





































Session flyer

